Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 22, 2010

Craving the Sun

After enjoying a beautiful, sun-filled weekend, I realize how much my body was craving the sunshine. Almost instantly I felt more active and energetic. Instead of dreading the thought of physical exercise, I was ready for that afternoon walk!

Research asserts that sunshine stimulates the production of a hormone called serotonin which can help promote positive mental health. Sunshine can also stimulate the pineal gland which produces melatonin. This chemical has been shown to help operate our bodies’ clocks and aid with our sleep function. In addition, around 90% of our Vitamin D is derived from exposure to the sun. Vitamin D has been credited with everything from regulating our immune systems and preventing many types of cancer to slowing the aging process. No wonder we’ve been missing the sun!

But the sun also can have a less enjoyable effect. As I sat in my living room basking in the warmth of the bright sunlight streaming through the windows, I could see tracks and smudges on the hardwood floor that had been less noticeable when the sunlight was hidden by the clouds. My “clean” house suddenly began to show the effects of my hurried feather dusting and dust mopping. My first instinct was that I needed to close the blinds to keep out the sunlight that highlighted every lurking dust bunny and dirty smudge on the floor. But I just couldn’t bring myself to shut the sun out. Instead, I decided to go outside and take that afternoon walk!

As I thought about the effect of the sunlight on our physical and mental lives, it occurred to me of the analogy of light that Jesus used. In John 8:12, He states, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” Jesus came to bring spiritual light into a dark world. Just as the sunshine reveals the dust and smudges on my floor, Jesus can reveal all the dark, hidden, sinful things in my life. As I confess and seek His forgiveness, His light shines that I may follow Him and see my – or rather, His – way more clearly.

Sometimes we do not want to see Jesus’ light in our lives. We would rather pull the blinds and keep the light out. “For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed” (John 3:20). Just as I closed the door on my living room and left, instead of facing up to what Jesus is trying to show us, we walk away. Yet that is why Jesus came. “I have come as a light into the world, that whoever believes in Me should not abide in darkness” (John 12:46). Jesus doesn’t want anyone to live in a dark, lost world. He came – not to judge us – but to save us. “And if anyone hears My words and does not believe, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world” (John 12:47). It is not God’s desire that anyone should perish. In 2 Peter 3:9, we are told that He is “longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.” That is why He sent Jesus as a light into the world – first to shine on all the dark spots and bring us to conviction, and then to shine His marvelous light so that we can clearly see the way to follow Him.

The Bible tells us that one day we will not need the sun any longer. “The sun shall no longer be your light by day, nor for brightness shall the moon give light to you; but the Lord will be to you an everlasting light, and your God your glory” (Isaiah 60:19). This is a reference to the New Jerusalem where the children of God will be forever with Jesus. “The city had no need of the sun or of the moon to shine in it, for the glory of God illuminated it. The Lamb is its light” (Revelation 22:23).

I cannot imagine what it will be like to be constantly in the light of Jesus, but I do know what it is like to be without His light in my life. That is a place I don’t want to be anymore. I am so thankful that God sent Jesus to save us from that place of darkness. Like the psalmist, may I pray, “Oh, send out Your light and Your truth! Let them lead me; Let them bring me to Your holy hill and to Your tabernacle. Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy; and on the harp I will praise You, O God, my God” (Psalm 43:3-4). In other words, may I keep on craving the “Son!”

Dear Heavenly Father,

May I daily seek Thy light,

Be drawn to bask in Thee,

So that the steps I take each day

Reflect Thy light through me.

Help my hands be Thy hands

Doing what Thou would do.

And may those things that hurt Thy heart

Hurt my heart, too.

May thy light, strong and clear,

Shine on me night and day,

And ever lead and guide me

In all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

Categories

