Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 15, 2010

Watching for Daddy

One remark that stood out to me recently after the tragic earthquake in Haiti was the comment by a Haitian survivor – “A lot of important things became unimportant today.” Most of us probably felt the same way after the terrorist attack on 911. I was at work on that fateful day, but not much work got done. Most of us were glued to the television in the conference room or huddled around various desks listening to radios. Due dates and deadlines were suddenly not as important as before.

Thinking about this, I realized that each one of us could make that same statement at various times in our individual lives. We’re all about schedules, deadlines, to-do lists, but one telephone call or shrill ring of a siren can cause those schedules and lists to have little significance. Yet at times like these, while some things seem to lose their importance, we can also gain sight of the truly important things in our lives. I remember after the incidents of 911, I wanted to go home. I wanted to go home and hug my husband and kids. I’ve felt that way countless times when I’ve heard of the untimely death of a young person or a cruel accident that tore a family apart. At such times, we become much more aware of what is truly important and what really matters in our lives.

Indeed our lives can take many curious twists and turns and can often turn out quite different from what we anticipated. But regardless of what happens in our lives, there is one constant on which we can always depend. Thinking about this reminds me of my experiences as a child when the carnival came to town.  Every summer a traveling carnival would park in the large field beside the school and for a week we would be awed by the bright lights, the repeating refrains of the carnival music, and the sweet scents of cotton candy and red candy apples wafting in the warm nighttime air.  Yet as much as I looked forward to the carnival’s visit every summer, I also feared some of the wild rides that my older sister would undoubtedly convince me to ride on with her.  I could have refused, but then I would have been called a chicken, so every summer I would hold my breath, bite my tongue, and do whatever else it took to survive the wild rides. And do you know what else I did? I looked for Daddy who would always be there waiting for us when we got off the rides. I survived those rides – all the while thinking Daddy’s watching! Daddy’s waiting!

Sometimes our lives are just like my carnival experiences.  We look forward to some things, dread others, and some things we can just get through by keeping our eyes on someone who loves us – that’s where God comes in. Whatever we’re going through (if we are children of God), He is there with us. Just as my Daddy watched and waited for me, God watches and waits for us. While we may not understand why bad things happen, why good people suffer, or why we have to face the things we’re going through, God knows and understands. “I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope” (Jeremiah 29:11). We can place our confidence in a wise all-powerful God who sees and knows and who promises to be there with us whatever the situation. We can claim the same promise that Moses told the nation of Israel before they crossed over into the promised land. “Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6). God is the master planner, designing and working out all things for our good.  Therefore, when we are in the midst of one of life’s wild rides, we need not despair even if we do not understand because we can depend on God.

The same God who made and controls the entire universe loves us so much that He sent His own Son to die in our place in order that we might be saved and have fellowship with Him (see John 3:16). Could such a God not care about us and the curious courses and turns our lives may take? Although we may not understand the why behind our situations, we can rest in the assurance that this same God is the author of our life’s story. As we walk with Him and seek His direction, we can have confidence that when our ride is over, we will be able to look back over all the way He has led us and see a beautiful story laced with His forgiveness, grace, and love.

Where are you in the story God planned for your life?  Have you asked Him for direction and help as you try to stay on course?  Just like my carnival experience, we do not know what the future holds, what twists and turns our life’s story may take.  But we have the promise in Isaiah 43:1b-3a.  “’Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine.  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.  When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.  For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.’”

I am His! He is my Savior. He will always be with me. I think I’ll keep my eyes on Daddy (my Heavenly Daddy).

My Dear Abba,

Before I ever knew You,

I was on Your mind.

You knit me altogether,

Planned each detail of my life.

You made a world of wonder,

The earth, the sky, the sea,

Things that take my breath away,

You made them all for me.

You’ve blessed me in so many ways,

Too numerous to count.

With Your handprint on my life,

How could I ever doubt?

Your love has been unswerving

Even when I’ve failed You so,

You gave Your one and only Son

That true life I might know.

How I thank You, Abba,

For all You are to me

And for the joy and peace of knowing

You’re always there with me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

