Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 8, 2010

A Valentine Memory

This week countless numbers of sweethearts will be shopping for that just right card or gift to give to that special someone. I can remember as a child eagerly addressing and signing all my valentines to take to school. My Mama always made sure that my sister and I addressed a valentine to each and every one of our classmates. While I gladly did that, I had to make sure that I sent the right card to the right person. I mean I couldn’t possibly give that boy who made faces at me a card that said anything about love, or that girl who wouldn’t pick me at recess – well I certainly couldn’t give her my prettiest valentine!  

I can also remember anxiously watching my little white paper bag all decorated with red construction paper hearts. It joined all the other bags lined up around the classroom to collect our valentines. Looking out the corner of my eye, I would watch as my classmates delivered their valentines to see if they stopped by my bag. I could hardly wait until Valentine’s Day when we could finally retrieve our white bags and open our valentines. I would carefully read and treasure each one – and take special notice if someone actually signed their name “with love”!

I smile at that memory now, but even after all these years that memory is still just as sweet and perhaps even more precious than ever. I wonder why. I mean I’ve received many much more meaningful valentines over the years, truly treasured valentines, that I have lovingly saved and packed in a box in my closet. So why is this memory of my childhood valentines so special?

I think I know. This childhood memory probably represents the basic desire of the human heart better than any other I know. Whether we want to admit it or not, every single one of us longs to be loved and accepted. We want to believe that we are really important to somebody and that another person really cares for us. Just as I longed for my little white bag to bulge with valentines, I am sure the toughest little boy in my childhood class probably felt the same way.

Where does this desire for love and acceptance come from? I think it comes from our Heavenly Father who created us in His image. In Genesis 1:26, God said, “Let us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness…” Our God is a God of love (see 1 John 4:8). We are born with this innate desire to love and be loved. But while we make look to others to satisfy this desire, God has already poured out His love upon us (see Romans 5:5). In Jeremiah 31:3, the prophet exclaims, “The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying: ‘Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.”

God loves us with an everlasting love. It is not the kind of love that may be here today and gone tomorrow. It is always there, in the good times, in the bad times, and all times in between. We don’t have to wait to see if we’re good enough, pretty enough, or smart enough for God to give us a valentine expressing His love for us. He already has! “In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins” (1 John 4:9-10). “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, that while were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8).  

God offers His love to every man, woman, boy, and girl. It is free of charge with no strings attached. We don’t have to earn it, deserve it, or win it. All we have to do is accept it. “But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name” (John 1:12). And the funny thing is, that once we receive God’s love, it’s contagious. You just can’t keep it to yourself. So go ahead and send those valentines – and while you’re at it, tell someone about God’s love. You just might help create a lasting valentine memory for someone you love.

Responses

  1. Kathy,

    I really enjoy reading what you write. Thank you for sharing it with others! The Lord has blessed you with an incredible gift!

    Lauren

    • Thanks, Lauren. I’m glad you enjoy these posts. Feel free to use/share with others. And thanks to you for sharing your gifts as well. You have such a beautiful voice – really enjoyed hearing you Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

