Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 3, 2010

To Be Like Daddy

Have you ever noticed how little boys try to be just like their daddies? They copy the way their dads walk, mimic their facial expressions, and even adopt many of their mannerisms. They want to dress like daddy and do the things that daddy does. While little girls may want to be more like their mothers, daddies are special to them as well. They love to curl up in daddy’s lap and snuggle up safe and secure in daddy’s strong, protective arms. What little girl doesn’t enjoy being known as daddy’s princess?

My Daddy was special to me, too. Although my Daddy passed away almost 20 years ago, I can be taken back in an instant to some of my favorite childhood memories shared with Daddy – a simple fishing trip to a neighborhood fish pond, swimming in a COLD mountain creek (he threw me in), singing at the top of our lungs as we rode “over the river and through the woods” in our old Chevy to his parents’/my grandparents’ house, stopping to pick and eat  chinquapins on the way back home, and our summer trips to Recreation Park where we rode the ferris wheel, carousel, scrambler, and the bumper cars, too – if I could ride with Daddy. I loved my Daddy and wanted to please him in all that I did.

Jesus had a Father, too. At the darkest moment in Jesus’ earthly life, He called on His Father as He prayed in Gethsemane. “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will” (Mark 14:36). “Abba,” the Aramaic for “father” is similar to saying “daddy.” It was an expression that a child might use in talking to his father and reveals the close, tender relationship that Jesus had with His Father. And just as a child tries to please his earthly father, Jesus sought to do His Father’s will and glorify Him in all that He did. Even as a child He recognized that He must be busy with the things God sent Him to do. “Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” (Luke 2:49b) He explained further in John 8:28-29. “When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am He, and that I do nothing of Myself; but as My Father taught Me, I speak these things. And He who sent Me is with Me. The Father has not left Me alone, for I always do those things that please Him.”

We also are sons of God. As Paul reminded the Romans, “For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, Abba, Father” (Romans 8:15).  Adopted into God’s family through His Spirit, we have the same privileges as a Son born into the family – but likewise, the same responsibilities. Just as I wanted to please my earthly Daddy, shouldn’t I also want to please my Heavenly Father? Hebrews 12:9 reminds us, “We have had human fathers who corrected us, and we paid them respect. Shall we not much more readily be in subjection to the Father of spirits and live?” Shouldn’t I, like Jesus, want to be about my Father’s business? Shouldn’t I always want to do those things that please Him?

As I begin this new year, I want to be more like my Heavenly Father. I want to walk like Him, talk like Him, and do those things He would do. I want to be so much like Him that others will see something of my Father in me. I want to please Him in all that I do and I want Him to be proud of me. I know I have a long way to go, but God’s word assures me of the way He will walk with me.

“When Israel was a child, I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son…

 I taught Ephraim to walk, taking them by their arms;

but they did not know that I healed them.

I drew them with gentle cords, with bands of love,

 and I was to them as those who take the yoke from their neck.

 I stooped and fed them.”

(Hosea 11:1,3-4)

I remember being so proud when I was a kid and someone would say, “You know her – she’s YT’s (my Daddy) daughter.” I cannot imagine any greater complement than for someone to say, “You know her – she’s her Father’s daughter.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

