Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 21, 2009

What Do You Want for Christmas?

The other evening at church I was fortunate enough to be seated near one of my five-year-old friends. At one point at the beginning of the service, he leaned over and whispered in my ear, “What do you want for Christmas?” I honestly replied that I didn’t know what I wanted, but inquired as to what he wanted for Christmas. “A bike!” he immediately replied. He knew without a doubt what he wanted for Christmas.

I smiled to myself as I thought about his question. And then I began to wonder, “What do I want for Christmas?” As a child, like my five-year-old friend, I always had my list ready with what I wanted for Christmas. Over time, however, my list of Christmas wants gradually became more practical. It was more about something I needed or a special extra that we could afford. When was the last time that I had really asked myself what I wanted for Christmas? After all, as an adult I knew that Christmas was about much more than buying and receiving gifts.

Yet as I thought about the way a child comes to us at Christmas with their list of wants, I realized that this is exactly the way that God wants us to come to Him. Children do not necessarily think about what they need, but what they want. They may not consider how much an item may cost, or if it has any practical application. They just know what they want and bring us their list. While this may seem terribly self-serving, this is the way God wants us to approach Him. In Matthew 7:7-8, Jesus says, “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.”

This does not necessarily mean that God is going to give us everything for which we ask. Just as a parent sometimes has to tell his child no, God also may have to refuse our requests. Perhaps it is not the right time in our lives or perhaps God has something even greater in store that we cannot see or even know to ask (Ephesians 3:20). Still, God tells us to come to Him just as a child comes to his father. Psalm 62:8 states, “Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.” We give Him the desires of our hearts, talk to Him, and surrender our wants to His will. It is in this time of prayer and trusting that God works in us to conform our wants and desires to His will. Psalm 37:4 states, “Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.” When we are truly delighting in and seeking the Lord, the very desires of our hearts will spring from that relationship with Him. 

And just like a father, God also knows what we need even before we ask. He knew that we would need a Savior even before we were born. At Christmas we celebrate the greatest gift that was ever given – “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16) Once we accept Jesus Christ as our Savior and make Him our Lord, we truly have all that we could ever need or want – at Christmas time or anytime. But, it is just the beginning as we learn the joy of walking, talking, and sharing our hearts with a Father who truly loves and delights in us.

So what do I want for Christmas? Practically speaking, I’d like to have a bread box. But I can honestly say, it doesn’t really matter because with Jesus as my Savior and God as my Father, I have the greatest gift of all!

What do you want for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

Categories

