Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 14, 2009

From the Manger to the Cross

Thoughts of Christmas always bring me to the baby in the manger – a sweet, innocent baby wrapped in strips of cloth and laid gently on a bed of soft hay. But then I’m reminded that this baby was not just Mary’s sweet baby. He was the very Son of God. That truth, although I’ve heard it and repeated it time and time again, I still cannot fully fathom – the wonder of God incarnate, living and breathing among us.

That is especially true when I think of Jesus as a young child. I cannot help but wonder what His childhood was like. I wonder what games He liked to play, what foods He liked to eat. I wonder if Jesus, as a child, fully understood what He was sent to earth to accomplish. The Bible is largely silent about Jesus’ childhood years except when at age 12 He accompanied Mary and Joseph to Jerusalem for the Feast of the Passover. At that point, it is apparent that Jesus was aware of His unique purpose (see Luke 2:49).

Although Jesus’ childhood was probably characteristic of a young Jewish boy, I cannot help but think of Him living constantly in light of what He would one day face at Calvary. Yet the Scriptures consistently mention that Jesus “set His face to go to Jerusalem” (Luke 9:51b). Jesus not only knew His mission, He faced it with determination. He freely gave up His life that you and I might be saved. In John 10:15, Jesus states, “As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd.”

I am one of those “other sheep” that Jesus freely gave up His life to save. I cannot look at the baby in the manger without contemplating my Christ on the cross for that is why He came. In John 10:18, Jesus emphatically declares, “No one takes it [my life] from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This command I have received from My Father.” Jesus chose to die that I might have life.

Responses

  1. Another good one. Have a Merry Christmas


Leave a Reply

Categories

