Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 15, 2009

I Love Christmas Gifts!

I know this is not necessarily the Christian thing to say, but I love gifts at Christmas. In fact, I love everything about Christmas. I love putting up all the decorations, baking all the goodies, and listening to the beautiful Christmas carols. I enjoy the special church services, the children’s plays, the family dinners, and yes, even shopping for the perfect gifts. I know that part of my love of Christmas comes from my parents. They loved Christmas, too.

 

I can still see Mama poring over her recipe books – a tradition that I repeat every Christmas – planning that perfect meal and which goodies to bake. I also remember the old Sears Roebuck Christmas catalog that my sister and I would practically tear apart as we turned and turned its pages looking at all the toys that tempted our young eyes. But one thing I really remember is that although my parents didn’t have a lot of money, every year at Christmas there were presents under our tree. The packages may not have contained all those expensive toys we saw in the catalog or on the store shelves, but there were presents. There were presents for us to handle and shake and try to guess what was inside, or beg to open early.  

 

Often the packages contained things we really needed like a new pair of pajamas or shoes. But there was also at least one or two gifts with something extra – something that we really wanted like my first bike or the one I’ll always remember – a small child’s desk with a little chalkboard. Although I didn’t recognize it then, those presents meant more to my sister and me than the finest gifts anyone could give us. Why? Because they were given out of sacrifice and love.

 

Isn’t that what Christmas is all about? “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16) God gave us the best gift of all when He sent Jesus. It surely wasn’t an easy gift to give. Yet God showed His love for each of us through the immeasurable gift of His Son.

 

Isn’t that what we do at Christmastime when we give gifts? In our own limited way, we are showing love to others. In 1 John 13:35, Jesus states, “By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” When we shop for that perfect gift for a family member, give money to a charity, or volunteer our time or talents we are showing love to others. While our gifts can never match the wonder of God’s gift, regardless of how much money we have to spend, our thoughtful gifts can show others that we love and care for them, as well as provide an opportunity to tell them about the love of God in sending His Son, Jesus.

 

That is why I say that I love Christmas gifts. But, actually, it’s not about the gifts, but about showing Christ’s love to others in a real, visible way. “In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.” (1 John 4:10-11) I’m going to start planning my Christmas list now. After all, there’s only 40 more days until Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

