Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 1, 2009

I’m Glad I Have A Savior!

 

I’m so glad I have a Savior – someone who knows me inside and out and better than I know myself. Recently, I have been confronted with where I stand on some pretty controversial topics like capital punishment, the Christian response to war, and similar issues. While I know such topics are notorious for inciting debate among Christians and non-Christians alike, as I grappled with my convictions over some of these issues, I was reminded of the following Scripture.

 

For unto us a Child is born,

Unto us a Son is given;

And the government will be upon His shoulder.

And His name will be called

Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,

Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Of the increase of His government and peace

There will be no end,

Upon the throne of David and over His kingdom,

To order it and establish it with judgment and justice

Form that time forward, even forever.

The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.

(Isaiah 9:6-7)

 

In this world we will never have total, absolute peace because of sin. Even as a Christian, trying to make the right choices and do the right things, I mess up. I can sow discord, be impatient, and sport an attitude inconsistent with the faith I profess. However, as I seek to live for Christ, sometimes, thankfully, I do make the right choices and Christ rules in my heart. Then Christ can show others a little bit of His kingdom on earth through me.

 

What does all of this have to do with capital punishment or the Christian response to war? Both of these issues are the result of sin in our world. Regardless of whether an individual is pro or con capital punishment, or whether he champions pacifism or war to settle conflicts, we will not know true peace until Christ returns. As long as there are sin and evil in this world, there will be crimes worthy of death, as well as division and conflict that must be addressed by people and governments.  We are warned in 1 Peter 5:8: “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”  

 

This is why I’m so glad I have a Savior. I cannot imagine life in this world without the hope we have in Christ. I cannot help but look forward to the day when “the government will be upon His shoulder.” No longer will we need to look to earthly governments to defend and protect us, but Christ Himself will establish His kingdom and “order it and establish it with judgment and justice.” Then we won’t have to debate controversial issues like this anymore because Christ will reign – Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God (powerful warrior), Everlasting Father (who provides for and protects), and Prince of Peace!  

 

Dear Father,

How perfectly You know me,

Both my certainties and doubts,

You wrought my very substance

So you know me inside out.

Nothing can I hide from You,

You know my thoughts and ways,

The deepest longings of my heart,

The paths my feet may take.

You’re with me in the morning,

You lay down with me at night,

You walk before and after me,

All things are in Your sight.

How wonderful Your presence,

The ways You hold me up,

Your strength that undergirds me,

Your love that fills my cup.

You know me, yet You love me,

You cleanse me from my sin,

Such love and grace and mercy,

I scarce can comprehend.

(Based on Psalm 139)

Leave a Reply

Categories

