Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 27, 2009

I Hope You Smile!

 

Smiles! There is just something about a smile. A smile can lift our spirits, encourage us to try one more time, lighten the load we carry, and calm an anxious heart. How? What is the power of a simple smile?

 

I often speak of the kindergartners I help teach in Sunday School. If anybody brings a smile to my face, it is this bubbling group of five-year-olds. I have to admit that they do more for me than I probably do for them. It is like receiving my weekly dose of cheer to take me through another week. Here are just a few comments that perhaps may bring a smile to your face, too.

 

”I didn’t brush my teeth last night. Dear God, please don’t make me dead! I brushed them this morning!”

 

“Don’t ask for any help in Kindergarten – they won’t help you. You’ve got to do it yourself. That’s what Kindergarten is all about – learning how to do things for yourself!”

 

“You should have told us (about a teacher’s comment that she had to buy a new clothes dryer) – my family is almost rich!”

 

“Did you have a good week in school?” “Yes, I only got nine notes from the teacher this week!”

 

Such comments make us smile. Proverbs 15:13 states “A merry heart makes a cheerful countenance, but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.” Again in Proverbs 17:22 we read “A merry heart does good, like medicine, but a broken spirit dries the bones.” Then again in Proverbs 18:14, “The spirit of a man will sustain him in sickness, but who can bear a broken spirit?”

 

While laughter is definitely good medicine, sometimes we just don’t have anything to laugh about. Life hands all of us more than enough heartaches and troubles to break our spirits. What do we do then? The psalmist David reminds us, “When my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I” (Psalm 61:2b). It is in turning to the Lord that we find the strength and help we need to cope with any situation we may face. Psalm 30:5 reminds us “weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.”

 

Troubles in this life are sure, yet God’s word assures us that our hope in Him is just as sure. Romans 5:5 states “Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” When we accept Christ as our Savior, we receive the Holy Spirit who not only helps us today, but also encourages us in our hope in God. It is this trust and hope that allows the believer to radiate an inner joy and peace even in tough times. Proverbs 20:27 states, “The spirit of a man is the lamp of the Lord, searching all the inner depths of his heart.” When our spirits are one with God’s Spirit, we find a peace and joy that is evident to others – and we discover the power of a smile.

 

Although we smile at the kindergartner comments above, one thing that strikes me is the true sincerity with which they are offered. These kids are not trying to be funny. These are real concerns or honest assessments of five-year-olds. And it is that sweet, straightforward innocence that makes us smile. If we could only be the same way when we come before God – open, honest, surrendering, and trusting. I think God smiles when we do. Zephaniah 3:17 reminds us that God rejoices over us with gladness and singing, and that He quiets us with His love. That makes me smile – I hope you smile, too!

Responses

  1. Thanks for a smile on this Monday morning. 🙂

  2. Thank you for pointing this out. I also look forward to those smiles.


Leave a Reply

Categories

