Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 12, 2009

An Image Bearer of My King

 

 

It is hard to not get discouraged just reading the morning newspaper or listening to the evening news anchors as they detail accounts of child abuse, rape, brutal killings, robberies, hate crimes, and countless other ways people mistreat one another – people just like you and me, all of us created in the image of God. Even if we do not commit serious crimes, we still can be guilty of mistreating others. We may speak out in anger to a coworker or grow irritable in traffic and make a rude gesture. We may simply ignore someone and not make her feel welcome in our group. Anytime we fail to truly value another human being as the creation of God that they are, we are guilty of mistreating that person.

 

Genesis 1:27 says “So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” God created us all in His image. What does it mean to be created in the image of God? Statues are not erected of God. In fact, He strictly prohibited fashioning any kind of image or idol to worship (Exodus 20:4). But we are God’s image! People should be able to glimpse something of God’s likeness by looking at our lives.

 

Oh, how humbling! I wonder what I made others think about God today. Did I choose to smile or scowl at a stranger? Did I wait in line patiently or grumble and complain? Did I communicate a sense of worth and dignity to any person with whom I had contact today? I know I do not always treat others like Christ would. I do not always take time to be thoughtful and kind, and I do not always put the needs of others ahead of my own.

 

But what is encouraging to me as a Christian is that just as my good works do not save me or make me righteous, neither are they something that I do in my own strength or power. Instead it is Christ living in me. When I accept Christ as my Savior, the Holy Spirit is poured into my life. It is the Holy Spirit that works in me and helps me to live the life that God wants me to live. “But when the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward man appeared, not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Savior” (Titus 3:4-6). So as I stay close to my Savior, He will continue to grow me and change me and help me to be a better picture of Christ to others. So the more that I want to reveal God to others, the closer I need to stay to Him so that I can be a good image bearer.

 

It is then that we can have the power to love others as God loves us (John 15:12). It is this kind of love that loves our neighbors as ourselves, that loves our enemies, that can turn the other cheek, and that can forgive and pray for others when they sin against us. It is this kind of love that witnesses to a lost world of the unconditional love of God.

 

Dear Father,

What a privilege to be

An image bearer to You, O King,

To bring the gifts You give to me

And serve You as my offering.

What a joy to walk with You

And for Your Spirit to work in me,

So any good that others see

Will be the image of Christ in me.

 

 

For Further Study: Titus 3

                               1 John 3:10-24

Leave a Reply

Categories

