Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 6, 2009

To Be A Friend

 

To have a friend is one of life’s greatest blessings,

To be a friend is one of life’s greatest privileges,

To be God’s friend is both!

 

 

One of my five-year-old friends recently told me about a “friend” at school. He explained that he would try to play with her, but that she would scream at him and say mean things. “I’m sorry,” I cajoled, “that’s not being very kind.” “No, it’s not,” he agreed, “but I just have to love her because that’s just what you have to do.” Wow! The verse that instinctively jumped to my mind was Proverbs 17:17, “A friend loves at all times…” My young friend reminded me that a friend loves no matter what. Is that the way I love my friends – no matter what?

 

In John 13:34 we are told to “love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.” That means we should love others even when they do unlovely or wrong things. We should love them when they reject us or refuse our offers of friendship. Just as God’s love for us never fails, so our love for others should also be constant.

 

How can I learn to love like that?  The Bible tells us —

  • “A man who has friends must himself be friendly” (Proverbs 18:24).
  • “Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you” (Ephesians 4:32)
  • “Through love serve one another” (Galatians 5:13).

 

Jesus, Himself, shows us what this kind of love looks like.

  • He had compassion and cared for others (Matthew 9:36, Matthew 14:14, Matthew 20:34, Mark 1:41, among many other references).
  • He forgave others (Luke 23:34).
  • He was concerned for others and invited them to come (Matthew 11:28).
  • He was no respecter of persons (Matthew 9:9-13).
  • He was humble and served His friends (John 13:1-20).
  • He gave His life that all people might be saved (John 18-20).

 

Oh, to be a friend like Jesus! Yet how many times do I allow pride and selfish concerns to keep me from reaching out and in the words of my young friend “love others no matter what – because that’s just what you have to do.”

 

I’m glad that God loves me like that. I pray that I may follow Him and love others in the same way. John 15:14 states, “You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.” He has told me to love others as He loves me. I pray that I will learn to love like Jesus and not only be a good friend to others, but know the blessing and privilege of being God’s friend, as well.

Responses

  1. One of the things that I thought that the the church as all about was love. I remember that so distinctly when I was first “saved”. I believed that when I walked into that church door that I would be loved, accepted and embraced. After 26 years as a christian I must admit, love is not what the church is all about.

    Jesus is love, in fact the Bible says “God is Love” not just an attribute of God, or a quality of God, but the essence of God!

    I, like you, have struggled to love as well….maybe your young friend is the example we should follow and obey the teaching of Jesus where He says “unless you become as little children you will not see the Kingdom of God.”

    What a great example this child is.


Leave a Reply

Categories

