Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 1, 2009

A Time to Remember

 

Shorter evenings, cooler days – I guess fall is definitely in the air although the calendar doesn’t quite know it yet. Although I am thankful to live in an area where I can enjoy all four seasons, fall has always been my favorite. Why? I’m not exactly sure. I mean I love springtime, the smell of the fresh earth, trees budding, and flowers blooming. I love the summertime, wearing flip flops, hearing children playing, and the music of the ice cream truck. But I also love wintertime, settling in for a long winter’s nap – or at least a slower pace. And I’m just like a kid again at the first forecast for snow! So what is it about the fall that makes me love it the best?

 

I think one reason I love fall so much is because more than any other season, it encourages me to remember. In the springtime, I’m encouraged to get busy, dig in the dirt or do some spring cleaning. In the summer I want to have fun – go on picnics, take a vacation. In the winter I settle in to work and indoor projects. But there’s something about walking on a leave-carpeted path or studying a bare tree trunk that causes me to grow thoughtful and reflect on life.

 

It is important to remember. In Luke 22 Jesus instituted a new meal which He instructed His disciples to do in remembrance of Him. This is what believers today refer to as the Lord’s Supper. The bread symbolizes Jesus’ body which was given for us and the drink symbolizes Jesus’ blood which He shed for us. When we participate in this meal, we remember not only what Jesus did for us when He died on the cross, but we also reflect on what His sacrifice means for the way we live our lives today. In addition, remembering Jesus’ death and resurrection also cause us to look forward to His coming again and the fulfillment of all His promises. In other words –

 

  • we look back and remember…

 

Looking back can keep us grounded. My Mama used to say, “No matter where you go, don’t forget where you came from!” When we’re conscious of where we’ve been, we recognize that we rarely get where we are alone. There have been people, God-ordained acquaintances, situations, etc. that have brought us to where we are today. Simply put, we are where we are because of God’s mercy, grace, and faithfulness to us. In Deuteronomy 15:15 God reminded the Israelites to “…remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and the Lord your God redeemed you…”

 

  • we look at where we are and reflect…

 

As we look at where we are and reflect on all God has done for us, we are less likely to get sidetracked. 1 Chronicles 16:12, David reminded the people to “Remember His marvelous works which He has done, His wonders, and the judgments of His mouth.” When we keep ourselves fixed on God, we stay focused. We know where we’ve been and we know the direction we need to keep going as we follow His leading.

 

 

  • we look forward and rejoice….

 

We cannot help but rejoice as we remember and reflect on God’s presence and activity in our lives. However, because of faith, we can rejoice over not just what He has done and is doing, but also over what is yet to come. We can look forward to the future – even a future that we cannot see – with hope because we can place our trust in God who has shown Himself to be faithful. Psalm 97:12 says “Rejoice in the Lord, you righteous, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.” Then in Philippians 4:4, we read, “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!”

 

 

Looking back I wonder

How You could love me so,

How every detail of my life

You work out just so.

I can never fathom

The wonder of Your ways,

You’re beyond all I can imagine

And worthy of all praise.

I lift my voice to thank You,

I worship You my Lord,

I joy in Your presence

And rejoice in You, O Lord!

 

 

For Further Study: Psalm 139

                              1 Corinthians 11:23-26

Leave a Reply

Categories

