Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 26, 2009

On the Front Porch

 

Recently, as I was adding pictures to a photo album, I began to flip back through the pages and reminisce over people and events through the years. The pictures of so many people grace those pages, some whom I have lost contact with over the years and others who are no longer with us. Tears sprang to my eyes as I gazed at one particular snapshot – a candid shot of my grandparents. My Granny and Pa were very special people in my life. Living just a short distance up the road from where we lived, it was a common sight to see my sister and me pedaling our bikes up the road to Granny and Pa’s house. Actually, we would pedal our bikes to the bottom of the driveway, then walk up the rutted, sloping road past the garden and cornfield to the white frame house perched on top of the small hill. Our little white dog, Buddy, would usually be at our heels.

 

Sometimes Granny and Pa might be working around the house or in the garden, but they always had time for us when we would drop by. They never let on that we might be interrupting or interfering with anything going on, and it was quite uncommon to not end up sitting together on their big front porch staring over the banister at the cornfields, and the houses and road below. To this day I cannot remember much of what we did or what we talked about, but I remember always feeling welcome, a sense of belonging right there on that front porch with Granny and Pa.

 

I would love to go sit on that front porch again, but their house is long gone. Even if nothing had changed, I don’t guess it would be the same without Granny and Pa sitting there, too. As I think about Granny and Pa and how much I enjoyed being with them, I realize that it is much like being in the presence of Christ. No matter when I show up or what I have on my mind, He is ready to welcome me and listen to me. James 4:8 says “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”

 

Sometimes I forget that. Maybe I haven’t been reading my Bible like I should, or I may say or do something I shouldn’t. But instead of coming to God, I run away from Him. I may wonder how He could still love me after I’ve failed Him. But His word reminds me that nothing can separate me from His love. “For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, not height nor depth, nor any other created things, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

 

 In other words, what I do cannot change who God is. God is love. When I do wrong things, I break fellowship with Him. Yet He still loves me. He still waits and looks for me to come back to Him. . Although it is hard to fathom that the Almighty God, Creator of all, desires for me to spend time with Him, the Scriptures assure us that He rejoices over us. “The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save: He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17)

 

Granny and Pa modeled this Christ-like love to a couple of kids (among many more) who I’m sure tried their patience and got on their nerves. Yet they always welcomed us with open arms. One of my last memories of Granny and Pa was the summer before Pa died in December. This time when we came, they were looking over the banister watching for us because they knew we were coming. We sat on the front porch together and ate ice cream. What if we had not come? Christ waits and watches for us, too. He assures us that “…the one who comes to Me I will by no means cast out.” (John 6:37b). What if we do not come – to receive Him, to confess our sins, to just talk to Him and share both our joys and burdens? This evening, I may just meet Him on my front porch. There’s just something about a porch.

 

For Further Study: 1 John 4:7-16

                               Psalm 63

Leave a Reply

Categories

