Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 15, 2009

Excitement in the Air

 

Can it be that time already? Where did summer go? While warm, summer days may still lie ahead, as the first day of school approaches, attention usually turns away from typical summer pursuits to buying backpacks, school supplies, and new clothes. As days grow shorter and the sounds of the katydids and crickets seem to grow louder, thoughts turn to football games, band competitions, and other fall activities. And regardless of whether boys and girls are ready to go back to school or not, there is a definite excitement and sense of expectancy as the first day of school draws near.

 

The kindergartners I help teach in Sunday School are no exception. They have been looking forward to going to first grade ever since they received their kindergarten diplomas a couple of months ago. They are also excited about moving from the preschool to the children’s department at church in a couple of weeks. As part of their promotion at church, each kindergartner receives a Kids Illustrated Bible. Throughout the preschool years, girls and boys have learned that the Bible is a special book that tells them about God and Jesus. They have also begun to learn how to apply some of its teachings to their lives. While most of the children are excited about receiving their very own Bible, one boy in particular was overjoyed. He kept unzipping the Bible cover, turning the pages of the Bible, looking at the pictures, then zipping it back up. A few minutes later, he would unzip the cover again and thumb through the pages. At one point, he even asked me to help him say the pledge to the Bible that we had learned during Vacation Bible School. I reminded him to be sure and bring his Bible every Sunday because he would need it in his new first grade class. So then he had to make sure which Sunday that would be so he wouldn’t forget to bring his Bible. 

 

As I thought about this child’s excitement, I admit it made me feel a bit ashamed. When was the last time I was this excited over God’s word? This child is just beginning to learn about the God who loves Him. I have a personal relationship with this God, have accepted the gift of His Son as my Savior, have walked with Him through both good and bad times, and have personally experienced the truth of His word in my life, yet my excitement often dims in comparison to that of this young child.

 

Psalm 119:103 states, “How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” God’s word teaches us, gives us wisdom and understanding, directs us in the way we should go, and offers us comfort and hope. Through God’s word, we can learn more about Him, His great love, mercy, grace, and faithfulness to us. The Psalmist described his great love for God’s word in Psalm 119. In verses 147-148 he states, “I rise before the dawning of the morning, and cry for help; I hope in Your word. My eyes are awake though the night watches, that I may meditate on Your word.”

 

I think sometimes we tend to forget that the Bible is God’s word to us. It speaks to every situation in which we might find ourselves. Too often we read the words, sometimes can even complete the verses from memory, yet we fail to really listen to hear what God is saying. We don’t read it expectantly, discerning God’s message for us today.

 

I pray that my young first-grade friend will keep his excitement over his Bible and that one day he will come to know this God in a real, personal way. I pray that I may never again take for granted the precious treasure of God’s word, but that I will read and listen expectantly – after all it is my Father speaking!

 

For Further Study: Psalm 119

Leave a Reply

Categories

