Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 2, 2009

Summer Memories

 

Ah – the lazy days of summer! I believe that the days of summer evoke more sweet childhood memories in me than perhaps any other season of the year. Pushing open a window or hearing a screen door slam can instantly take me back to traipsing barefoot through freshly mown grass or lying on my back beneath a canopy of blue skies and fluffy clouds. I can almost feel the cool waters of a mountain stream by just hearing the gurgling waters of the little creek near my house – the same stream I played in as a child. The symphony made by crickets, jar flies, katydids, and tree frogs remind me of a simpler time when summer evenings revolved around catching fireflies in a jar or playing simple childhood games.

 

My sister and I would ride our bicycles all over our small town, our mother never having to worry about us. People knew you and were always watching out for you. In some way, I feel this is a small glimpse of what heaven will surely be like – surrounded by people who love you and filled with sweet contentment, joy, and peace.

 

And the good thing is we do not have to wait until we reach heaven to taste that joy and contentment. Jesus often talked about the kingdom of God. When asked when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus answered, “The kingdom of God does not come with observation; nor will they say, ‘See here!’’ or ‘See there!’ For indeed, the kingdom of God is within you” (Luke 17:20-21). We can be part of God’s kingdom here and now. We enter God’s kingdom when we repent and accept Jesus as our Savior and allow God to reign in our hearts and lives. When we allow God to truly rule over our lives, there is a difference in the way we live, in the things we say and do. And although we may be surrounded by the anxieties of the world, we can have a peace and contentment that only those of the kingdom can know. Then, like the psalmist, we can say, “In the multitude of my anxieties within me, Your comforts delight my soul.” (Psalm 94:19).

 

I admit my glimpse of what I feel heaven will be like makes me long for that sweet place, but until then, I am thankful for the privilege of experiencing part of that kingdom now.

 

Further Study: Matthew 6

Responses

  1. Hi, Mommy! I’m loving your blog! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

